Gold, Kristi, One Night with the Sheikh

Gold, One Night with the Sheikh.jpg

Gold, Kristi, One Night with the Sheikh (Arabian Heat, Book 2),  (Richmond, Surrey:  Harlequin (UK) Limited, 2013).

Title:  One Night with the Sheikh (Arabian Heat, Book 2)

Author:  Kristi Gold

Imprint:  Desire

Issues:  Bereavement; Class Differences; Divorce; Domestic Violence; Grief; Guilt; POC; WOC

Blurb:

“I Have Never Forgotten That Night.”

Once, he’d chosen duty over love. Now, to escape his guilt and grief, widower King Rafiq Mehdi searches out the comfort of his old flame Dr. Maysa Barad. Her passionate surrender makes him realize that Maysa is the woman he should have married. Instead, his marriage of convenience brought nothing but pain and heartbreak. Maysa—beautiful, devoted, compassionate—is now considered too independent to be a sheikh’s bride. Rafiq may be ready to defy his kingdom to have Maysa this time, but the truth about Maysa could turn Rafiq’s world upside down…

Dear Reader,

Each time I settle in front of my computer to begin a book, I always make lots of coffee, hide some kind of candy in my desk drawer and populate a music playlist with selections I believe best capture the mood of the story.  Of course, most of those songs are romantic ballads, a no-brainer when you write romance.  However, the tunes always vary in terms of genre – from country music to classical – because, simply put, I have extremely eclectic taste in music, as well as an affinity for all things chocolate.

I didn’t veer from my usual routine when I began One Night with the Sheikh.  After I’d decided where I wanted the story to go, I immediately went to work finding specific tunes that I felt would be inspirational.  I chose several songs by various performers, including Journey, Don Henley and New Age artist Constance Demby, by virtue of her hauntingly beautiful instrumentals.  But I have to admit, the two standouts on the list are “One of These Nights” by the Eagles and “Desert Rose” by Sting.  If you’re curious to know exactly what was filtering through my headphones during the love scenes, chances are it was one of these two songs.

When King Rafiq Mehdi and Dr. Maysa Barad are anywhere near each other, you can bet there will be a high level of chemistry, and they deserve background music to match.  After all, they’ve never forgotten that one incredible night they spent together years ago.  But sometimes one night just isn’t quite enough – even if it is forbidden.

Hope you enjoy the beautiful music Rafiq and Maysa make together!

Kristi

Leave a Reply

