Collins, Colleen, The Next Right Thing

Collins, The Next Right Thing.jpg

Collins, Colleen, The Next Right Thing,  (Richmond, Surrey:  Harlequin (UK) Limited, 2013).

Title:  The Next Right Thing

Author:  Colleen Collins

Imprint:  Superromance

Issues:  Parenthood

Blurb:

The next right thing is the only choice

Cammie Copello gets results—even if it means stretching the rules. That’s what makes her a great private investigator. It’s also what caused the little breach between her and attorney Marc Hamilton. It’s too bad, because they made a great team. And, honestly, her career hasn’t been the same since.

So imagine her surprise when Marc shows up begging for her help with a personal case. When he turns on the charm…well, she can’t refuse. But she can keep her attraction to Marc a secret—regardless of how tempting he is. Her intentions are put to the test, however, when he proves that the attraction is not one-sided!

Dear Reader,

The Next Right Thing marks my return to Harlequin and to my writing full-time again, both of them welcome events in my life!  Where have I been?  Working as a private investigator.  Yes, really.

I had started a private investigations agency in 2003 with my then-boyfriend.  My idea was for him to be a private investigator because he had trained dozens over his eighteen years as a former trial attorney.  At the time I figured I’d manage the office and handle the bookkeeping.  But before I knew it, I was sitting on surveillance in the wee hours of the morning, on the lookout for signs of a woman one the run with a baby.  Almost sounds like a Harlequin story, doesn’t it?  Especially the part where, later, I eloped with my P.I.-partner boyfriend.

Over the years I’d occasionally touch base with Wanda Ottewell, my Harlequin editor.  Last year, during one of our catch-up chats, I mentioned that I was cutting back on conducting investigations, and how much I’d love to write for Harlequin again.  She said, “Why don’t you send a story proposal?”

I did.  It became this book, a story about a heroine private investigator, Cammie Copello, and a hero lawyer, Marc Hamilton.  Although I don’t have a penchant for bending the law as Cammie does, I’ve conducted cases similar to hers in The Next Right Thing.  Like Cammie, I’ve also relied on tools, such as my smartphone, to solve whodunits.

Happy reading!

Colleen Collins

Leave a Reply

