Carter, Lisa, Falling for the Single Dad

Carter, Falling for the Single Dad.jpg

Carter, Lisa, Falling for the Single Dad,  (Richmond, Surrey:  Harlequin (UK) Limited, 2016).

Title:  Falling for the Single Dad

Author:  Lisa Carter

Imprint:  Love Inspired

Issues:  Bereavement; Depression; Grief; Parenthood;

Blurb:

Finding Her Way Home

After fifteen years away, Dr. Caroline Duer is nervous about returning to her hometown. The veterinarian might be able to save stranded sea turtles, but she can’t convince her dad of her good intentions. And when Caroline meets darling Izzie Clark, she encounters similar suspicion from the young girl’s father. Former coast guard commander Weston Clark had his life upended by Izzie’s mother. He won’t go through the same pain again. But Izzie isn’t the only one tumbling head over heels for the enigmatic Caroline. And if she can release the pain of the past, she just might be the missing piece Weston and his daughter have been searching for.

Dear Reader,

Years ago, a teacher friend gave me a nautilus shell.  This friend struggled against the darkness and battled sadness, but told no one.  Tragically, one day he chose to end his life.  I’ve since pondered the meaning behind the unique design of the nautilus.  This story is an outgrowth of that takeaway.  I believe it is important to talk about depression to combat the lie that we are alone.  I hope this story illustrates the truth that it’s okay to ask for help.  Life is often hard, but God is always good.

Like King David, the prophet Elijah and the Apostle Paul, Caroline struggles with depression.  She grapples with the implications of her family heritage.  If Caroline’s story describes your current situation, I pray you will seek the advice of a medical professional and wise, spiritual counsel, too, so that you might partake of the richer, fuller, abundant life God desires for you to experience.  Life is worth living.

During the writing of this story, I’ve cared for my aging father, who suffered with advanced Alzheimer’s, and I’ve pondered the legacy I will one day leave my children.  My father’s homegoing occurred on February 12, 2016.  I don’t know what the future holds for you or me.  But I’ve learned that I must trust in the God who holds us – our hopes, our dreams, our loved ones and our lives – in the palm of His hand.  The safest place we can rest.

Why?  Because you and I, we are His beloved, cherished, always precious children.  Ultimately, a heritage of faith is the best legacy I’ve inherited from my family.  Like the multichambered nautilus, I hope the cross section of your past will encourage you as to how far you’ve traveled.  And inspire you as to how far you may yet go.

I hope you have enjoyed taking this journey with me, Caroline and Weston.  I would also love to hear from you.  You may email me at lisa@lisacarterauthor.com or visit www.liscarterauthor.com.

Wishing you fair winds and following seas,

Lisa Carter

Leave a Reply

