Hardy, Kate, Her Real Family Christmas

18520742

Hardy, Kate, Her Real Family Christmas, (Richmond, Surrey:  Harlequin (UK) Limited, 2013).

Title:  Her Real Family Christmas

Author:  Kate Hardy

Imprint:  Medical

Issues:  Bereavement; Divorce; Foster Care; Grief; Parenthood

Blurb:

Dr Stephanie Scott’s smile can light up a room and she certainly catches the eye of single dad and obstetric surgeon Daniel Connor! But getting close to him and his little girl isn’t an option for recently divorced and heartbroken Stephanie. She’s long since felt she’ll never fit into a family.

But spending time with Daniel and his cute daughter Mia, opens Stephanie’s eyes to the possibility that her longed for wish — a family of her very own — might just come true this Christmas…

Dear Reader,

I rather like stories where the hero and heroine teach each other to trust again and/or love again.

My heroine doesn’t think she’ll ever fit into a family because she’s never had one – except in-laws who didn’t ever accept her for who she was.  This is where my hero and his daughter come in.  They need to learn to love again and open their hearts – which is what she does for them.

This idea actually started last ear, when I got my twice-yearly cold.  It always turns into a horrible croupy cough, nobody in the house gets any sleep for about a week, and I can’t nag about homework because I lose my voice (that bit is popular and almost makes up for the lack of sleep).  I was having a bit of a pity party on Facebook about it when one of my readers emailed me and suggested I got checked out for reactive airways.  I looked up the condition (which I don’t have, by the way – I’m just prone to croup), and thought it would be a great way for my hero and heroine to meet…  (A special thank you to Pat Amsden for the lightbulb moment).

I also love writing about Christmas.  The season’s one of my favourites, with its chance to spend some real quality time with my family.  (And I admit I love all the sparkling lights and the special ornaments on the tree.  And now my littlest is old enough she helps me find the perfect presents for her dad’s and brother’s stockings).  When my children were really small, one of our favourite Christmas traditions was taking them to see Santa.  So I couldn’t resist getting my hero and heroine to take his daughter to see Santa – and that of course, led to finding out what she really, really wanted for Christmas.

Oh, and there are the scallops.  My daughters and I discovered them while I was writing the book, played around with different ways of cooking them, and thought it should be this book’s recipe.  🙂  Enjoy!

I’m always delighted to hear from readers, so do come and visit me at www.katehardy.com.

With love

Kate Hardy

Leave a Reply

