Whiddon, Karen, Tempting the Dragon

30060355

Whiddon, Karen, Tempting the Dragon (The Pack, Book 18),  (Richmond, Surrey:  Harlequin (UK) Limited, 2016).

Title:  Tempting the Dragon (The Pack, Book 18)

Author:  Karen Whiddon

Imprint:  Nocturne

Issues:  Parenthood;

Blurb:

What lies beneath…

Investigative reporter Rance Sleighter had promised to prove the mythical Lake Creature existed. But its protector had already given him a heap of trouble, as well as inspired one too many hot fantasies. If Rance was going to get some answers, he’d have to get on the gorgeous Jade Burnett’s good side…and keep her away from his bed!

For generations, Jade’s shape-shifting pack had kept the Creature safe. Now Rance’s appearance had her rethinking all her vows. She’d seen him in her dreams, knew he was a shifter and that they possibly shared a life-changing bond. Yet could she find the courage to trust the dragon with the truth…and her own fragile heart?

Dear Reader,

Ever since The Bridges of Madison County, I’ve loved the idea of a photographer for a hero.  I finally got to write one in Tempting the Dragon.  It was just as exciting as I thought it would be.  And setting the story in my beloved Catskill Mountains (where I grew up) during autumn (my favourite season) made it even better.  Add in a soul mate who is a shape-shifter heroine who’s also a witch, and their story practically begged me to write it.  To cap it all off, the idea of a Lake Monster similar to Nessie, the Loch Newss Monster, wouldn’t leave me alone.  All of these things combined-oh my!  I couldn’t wait to get going on this book!

Sadly, my elderly father passed away when I’d barely begun writing this book.  I’d moved him near me and had been taking care of him for the last four years.  I had to put the book aside for a while to deal with my sorrow and putting his affairs in order.  But when I was finally able to come back to the story, it still enchanted and beguiled me-as I hope reading it will do for you.

Best wishes,

Karen Whiddon

Leave a Reply

