Hannay, Barbara, Adopted: Outback Baby

6904522.jpgHannay, Barbara, Adopted:  Outback Baby,  (Richmond, Surrey:  Harlequin (UK) Limited, 2008).

Title:  Adopted:  Outback Baby

Author:  Barbara Hannay

Imprint:  Cherish (Romance)

Issues:  Adoption; Parenthood

Blurb:

Their parenthood surprise…

Single, independent Nell Ruthven thought she’d missed her chance to be a mum when, aged nineteen, she was forced to give up her baby for adoption. Now, Nell’s discovered she has a tiny grandson in need of care. And the baby’s grandfather, cattleman Jacob Tucker, is in town…

At thirty-nine, this couple never thought they’d be parents, let alone grandparents! They never even thought they’d see each other again. But taking care of baby Sam together gives them a second chance—maybe even a second chance to fall in love?

Dear Reader,

I eventually married the lovely man who was my boyfriend when I was nineteen.  But most young people of that age move on to form new relationships, and the old boyfriends disappear, never to be heard of or seen again.

In many cases, that’s probably a good thing.  But I’m sure there are occasional wistful memories when some women wonder What if…?

What if I saw him again after all these years?  Would he recognise me?  Would he have changed?  Would there still be a spark?

What if…? Is the question writers ask all the time.  It’s how we come up with stories.  So I guess it’s hardly surprising that we love reunions.  They’re so brimming with tension and questions and romantic potential.

When I first started on this plot possibility, I never dreamed I’d end up writing about Nell and Jacob being brought together by a twist of fate to care for their baby grandson!  But the temptation to try something quite different is ery alluring, and I was delighted that my editor loved the idea too.

I hope you enjoy Nell and Jacob’s journey to happiness.

Warmest wishes

Barbara

Leave a Reply

