Johnson, Janice Kay, To Love a Cop

25321136

Johnson, Janice Kay, To Love a Copy,  (Richmond, Surrey:  Harlequin (UK) Limited, 2015).

Title:  To Love a Cop

Author:  Janice Kay Johnson

Imprint:  Superromance

Issues:  Bereavement; Gun Control; Parenthood; Suicide

Blurb:

She’s sworn to protect her heart…

After what Laura Vennetti and her son have been through, she’s avoided all contact with the police. Then her son brings detective Ethan Winter into their lives. Despite how appealing – and gorgeous – he is, it’s safe to say Ethan isn’t her dream man…

Immediately, though, Laura can see how different he is from her late husband. Ethan is thoughtful, considerate and a good influence on her son. Add in the intense attraction between her and Ethan and the temptation to give in is irresistible. To her surprise, Laura feels the wounds of the past healing, making her wonder if she could love this cop forever.

Dear Reader,

Writing this book made me think about being a mother, and how fierce that love is.  My daughters are adults now, and yet I still feel protective of them.  One is involved in international development work-she’s been to Africa as a Peace Corps volunteer and was in Nepal with a small nonprofit-while my older daughter has a high-stress job in the film industry.  It’s not the same as when they were little and I agonized after a friend snubbed one of them, or watched as each headed off solo in a car, newly minted driver’s license in her purse, but I still worry.

My quintessential, and most ridiculous moment as a mother came years ago when we were camping with my parents.  We were about to head into a limestone cavern in Montana when I discovered I was absolutely terrified of going underground.  I mean knee-knocking, gasping panic attack.  I knew I was afraid of heights, but this took me by surprise.  Of course I could have slunk back down the trail to wait for my family to emerge from the caverns.  In a burst of courage, I realized that if my kids were going to die in there, I would be there to die with them.  So I took a deep breath and plunged in, overcoming my fear.

Ridiculous, right?  But there was truth in that moment.  I channel it when I’m writing a heroine like Laura Venetti, whose life has been all about her son since something terrible happened to him.  But what is sexier than a man prepared to take on this boy and love him just as fiercely?

I hope you fall in love with Ethan, just as I did!

Janice Kay Johnson

Leave a Reply

